Brief Report of HEAM Scientist 2012

HEAM Scientist 2012, a national level seminar of young scientists working on hydrogen energy and related advanced materials was held on December 13 and 14, 2012 at Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala, Kariavattom campus. The seminar was organised by department of chemistry, University of Kerala in association with Indian Association for Hydrogen Energy and Advanced Materials (IAHEAM) and was sponsored by University of Kerala and VSSC (ISRO) Trivandrum. Several senior scientists and research scholars from all over the country participated in the programme.

The two day seminar started at 9.25 AM on December 13 with an inauguration session. Dr. S. M. A. Shibli, Associate professor, Head, Department of chemistry and President of IAHEAM presided over the function and delivered the welcome address. The meet was officially inaugurated by Dr. P. Sridhar, Senior principal scientist at CECRI, Madras unit and gave his inaugural address. Dr. S. Aravumuthan, Deputy Director, VSSC (ISRO) was a guest of honour at the function and in his key note address he emphasized the importance of hydrogen as a fuel in the present and future society. Dr. Raj Ganesh Pala, Professor, IIT Kanpur and Dr. Bipin Kumar Gupta, Scientist NPL New Delhi and vice-president IAHEAM expressed their felicitations to the programme. The convenor of HEAM Scientist 2012, Dr. Suneesh C. V. conferred the vote of thanks. In the next two days of the seminar, there were many invited lectures from eminent scientist working in the area of hydrogen energy and advanced materials including Dr. P. Sridhar (CECRI Madras), Prof. Raj Ganesh S. Pala (IIT Kanpur), Dr. Bipin Kumar Gupta (NPL New Delhi), Dr. Manoj A. G. Namboothiry (IISER Trivandrum), Dr. S. Mahesh (IIST Trivandrum), Dr.P. Ramesh Narayanan (ISRO Trivandrum), Dr. M. Sterlin Leo Hudson (BHU Varanasi) and Dr. R. Justin Joseyphus (NIT Trichy). There were many oral presentations from young researchers working and interested in the area of hydrogen energy and advanced materials. Each and every presentation was followed by thought provoking questions and stimulating discussions from the audience. There was an active poster presentation session on December 14, were young researchers got opportunity to present their research work.

Dr. Pukazhselvan, Padova University was selected for HEAM young scientist 2012 award. He was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 25,000, sponsored by IAHEAM. The prize was given away by Prof. K. N. Rajasekharan, Emeritus professor, department of chemistry, University of Kerala in the concluding session of the seminar. The seminar was officially curtained off by a concluding session at 4.30 P. M. on December 14. In this session, several participants expressed their comments and opinion about the seminar. Everybody was unison in their opinion that the seminar / meet was very useful for the young researchers working in the area of alternative energy resources and expressed their wish that this seminar should continue as a series in the coming years.