## <u>A brief Report on Rasathanthra – 2013</u>

IAHEAM has successfully conducted a national level quiz on Hydrogen Energy and other Renewable Energy Resources: Rasathanthra-2013 in association with Dept. Chemistry and University of Kerala, at the University of Kerala Campus on 14/08/13. The Kerala State Higher Education Council supported the event. The event began at 08.30 am with registration of the participants and audience. The program was inaugurated by Dr. S.M.A. Shibli, HOD, Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala. Mr. M. Shaneeth (Head, Fuel Cell Section, VSSC (ISRO)) had highlighted the significance of youngster's role in future energy programs through his invited lecture titled 'Energy, Environment and Fuel cell'. There was another invited lecture in succession to inauguration session by Dr. Mary Gladis, Associate Professor from IIST Trivandrum. Dr. Mary Gladis focused on Advanced Energy Systems. Mr. Pradeep, P. S. (Participant of Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings 2013 from India) shared his experience with Nobel Laureate meetings 2013. Before the competition there was an active group discussion on the topic "Relevance of Hydrogen and other renewable energy resources in current scenario" piloted by Mr. Pradeep, P. S.

The competition session started at 12.15 pm, the preselected (based on their abstracts) seventeen teams from all over India, were requested to face a screening test (written). The five teams selected for the final competition were:

1. Mr. Jidev, R and Mr. Ajay M, Ahalia School of Engineering & Technology, Palakkad

2. Mr. Harish Banda and Mr. Rathod Suman, IISER Trivandrum

3. Mr. Thejus Kartha and Mr. Nimba Oshnic, Central University of Tamilnadu.

4. Ms. Megha, S. & Ms. Arya, T, S. N. College Varkala.

5. Ms.Saranya Giridharan &Mr.Jibin, K. University College, Trivandrum. The competition included four different shows each one emphasized on different fields piloted by four masters (Mr. Renjith S., NIIST Trivandrum, Mr. Arun, P. S., University of Kerala, Mr. Vysakh, NIIST Trivandrum, Mr. Pradeep, P. S., University of Kerala) followed by active group discussion and interactions by audience from different academic and research institutions.

Finally the team comprising Mr. Jidev, R and Mr. Ajay M from Ahalia School of Engineering & Technology, Palakkad were declared as the winner of Rasathanthra-2013. Mr. Harish Banda and Mr. Rathod Suman from IISER Trivandrum came first runner up. Ms.Saranya Giridharan & Mr.Jibin, K. from University college, Trivandrum came second runner up.

The valedictory section was inaugurated by Dr. Jayasree, Research Officer, The Kerala State Higher Education Council. The cash awards of Rs.10,000/-, Rs.5000/-, Rs. 3000/- with the certificates were distributed to the winning teams by Dr. Jayasree, Research Officer, The Kerala State Higher Education Council. Dr. S. M. A. Shibli , distributed the cash prize of Rs.3000/- and certificates for best project proposal to Mr. Thejus Kartha and Mr. Nimba Oshnic from Central University of Tamilnadu.

Many team members as well as the audience expressed good comments and active suggestions about the points to be considered while organizing Rasathanthra-2014. The organizing committee expressed a pleasure and extended gratitude to all who participated /helped directly or indirectly for the successful completion of the program. The whole programs come to an end with national anthem at 16.00hrs.